About Me

Hi and welcome to Shalsworld!

IMG_1868 - Version 2

making new friends on Phillip Island, Australia

As you might have guessed, my name is Shal 🙂

I created this site as a way to keep my friends and family updated with my life, as they tend to be spread around the globe.

I am a 20-something year old who was born and raised in Canada, with Indian parents who understood the value of travel.  I had the opportunity to go on amazing family vacations from day one – with the most recent being July 2016 – and I began travelling on my own when I turned 16.  A 3-month exchange in Spain turned into a 6-month exchange in Australia which became a 1-year work placement in Namibia, a Master’s Degree in Europe and most recently, a job in Switzerland.

I am currently working for UEFA in Switzerland and living in picturesque Vevey.  This town is exactly as one imagines Switzerland to be: calm and beautiful, with Lake Geneva a five minute walk from my place, and a mountain behind me.

Vevey

my new home

Throughout my life I have looked for ways to combine the things I am interested in with travelling.  I firmly believe that everyone should seize the opportunities available today to explore, as technology and advancements are making even the most remote places accessible.

img_1863

getting ready to bungee jump off the Victoria Falls Bridge, Zambia/Zimbabwe

I hope to continue combining my passions, as well as be able to share my experiences with everyone!  Feel free to keep up with my life and follow my adventures here.  Don’t hesitate to contact me as well.

 

Advertisements